divisions

July 14, 2006 § 1 Comment

he looks over the map of the middle east, his fingers itching, muttering, his mantoman sense of it’s past time for talking encroaching on his onceagood soldier always a good soldier’s hatred for war but what are you going to do he wants to know looking me deadon daring me deadon because I’m one of theothers whose job on the line it is to keep talking even when you shouldn’t have to ask or say like yesterday when the builders working on the house behind us with the mountain behind them that reflects even the barest sound which one time got me out of bed in the middle of the night to go find those SOB’s who were making the goddamned racket only to find that it was a couple sitting on their deck talking in the river’s mist of night and giggling everyonce in a while and the sound rolled down the mountain into our bedroom window anyway the builders working on the house behind us all of a sudden for the first time since they started building the house which bynow they’re nearly done with & allof a damnsudden today some idiot overthere is playing a damned bosch construction radio and it’s been going on all damned day and he was getting sick&tired of it and the sooner they got out of there the better and no he wasn’t going to say a goodgoddamned thing would I please come here and help him with this other thing that had gotten him outside where he could really hear the radio in the second place at which point &click I said no, just sec whereyou going he asked just sec I saidagain I’ll be right back because inspite of my better judgement and always intending not to be pointed &clicked by him he is my true love and there is division of labors and it is my job on the line to keep talking evenwhen you shouldn’t have to ask and whether or not it makes a shit of a difference I was brought up having to say, so&but with no huff in my walk with no backward or forward provocation intended no toldyaso’s or dareya’s intended I walked with nopurpose in mind over to the guys on the job and asked eye to eye if we could reach a compromise on the music oh is it too loud he asked yes I said starting to explain and no problem he said moving righton to sorry, and walking over to turn it down, thank you I said no problem he said again and as if it were a joint venture I waited while he turned the radio down and he went back to work like it was no problem, and like it hadbeen no problem homeagain homeagain his fat hen I went

and though it’s quiet now on our backside myman is still rubbing his itchy fingers and muttering over the map…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to divisions

  • Inlow says:

    Simular scenes being reenacted here with breaking news that breaks the mood and makes T-bone tilt his head at the tension. No beach today this a.m.,(CNN) so he’s wired for the crisis. For the first time in months our policy of “No News Friday” is kaput which means the booze goes down with the BBC instead of fifties jazz and leggy Canaries, and a cut or two from a band with buzz.

    Would you and Paul and Barry take over the beltway so I can kickback with my babe and bourbon and write homages to Raymond Chandler.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading divisions at here.say..

meta

