triplicate of poems for the times (2)

March 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

Dirty Words

so much talk these days about being a patriot, as if we could
explain it if someone asked, as if being for our troops and against war
or being republican or for universal health care or in love
means one thing and not another, or as simple as yes or no
or like hippie or pro-choice or religious
is a name to be called; religious

as dirty a word in our family as patriotic
the things done in the name of God or country
against our grain, to put it mildly, but
yes or no
I am religious
and God help me patriotic and
yes or no
I can’t explain it

I wouldn’t die for my country or God or you
whether or not I love you, I am partisan but not zealot
faithful but not dumb maybe I’m just

neighbor

.

(published in Continent of Light, David Madgalene ed.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading triplicate of poems for the times (2) at here.say..

meta

