call for submission

May 13, 2016 § 2 Comments

 number 1 red dot

it’s that time again when we more self consciously than usual are thinking and talking about what a book is, these conversations being elicited by a ‘call for submissions’ to a book art exhibit, which it doesn’t go without saying one does or does not read carefully before deciding to submit work, since really if you don’t know beforehand you likely won’t know after you read the prospectus what might be accepted, or for that matter the number 1 red dot

I had already decided which (b-o-o-k) book I would submit before I read the prospectus, which I did read by which I mean skim, because I think I thought I knew what it would say, or it didn’t matter, or who knows but then one of my colleagues said she hadn’t understood what they were asking for, did I, so I went back and (r-e-a-d) read it again

and I was surprised (read annoyed!) to realize on the one hand I didn’t, and on the other hand maybe I did but I didn’t like what I thought I was understanding
let’s not be too bothered with words, o.k.?
kicking into gear something I’ve never done before: making a piece specifically designed to answer a particular call (I may or may not have understood) ha! we’ll see, as is always the case,

multi media: 9 words; chicken wire, wire, lead, metal wire, 527 glue, jewelry findings, gold thread, faded red plastic car, felt, casters, wood,

vocabulary: book, art, artist book, book art, words

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to call for submission

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading call for submission at here.say..

meta

