remembering the forgot; full justification

February 17, 2017 § 2 Comments

There’s always the part where one becomes disheartened, or the project disheartens.

It having started with a focus and a deadline and a plan a project an idea yes an idea that was too complicated, and maybe had too many moving parts to meet said deadline, but there was no way I had been able to successfully talk myself out of it and forward ho with reckless enthusiasm I was going.

And this morning a windless sail.

And in between after codex conversations about where to now, what next?
and
The ways in which one one can start with the book as a stationery object and move toward the book (the art) as experience, (in the making and observing)
or it is, and starts with an/ the experience and moves toward objectification or artifact if you will

And then
we got to the coming and going of it, and if in fact making a book is like riding the freights as in you meant to go to North Dakota and end up in Minnesota then, the art is what happens in between the two places

win_20170217_15_47_02_pro

And so as is the case I was in the wrong place, or thinking in inches using a metric ruler or forgetting that lead type is not digital, though it was in my digits, which is to say instead of fomenting with the tool in hand I was trying to replicate something already done ●●● in the best way that particular thing was going to be done●●● instead of doing, experiencing what wouldcould be done with the tool in hand, and once figuring that out, once, I remembered there are things handily and readily done with lead type and leading that are indelicate and a yearning desire for photoshop well so there I am now, wind at my back!

And I’m off to my own out of order in preparation for advancing waters shop to see what may be wrought.

It is the remembering and forgetting of it all that one forgets and remembers forgetting, forgets remembering.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to remembering the forgot; full justification

  • I feel like attaching three pages of math pedagogy — a long worked out example — I typeset in Word with equation-writer today. But I don’t know how to attach documents to blog post replies and it probably doesn’t matter anyway.
    The thing is, I couldn’t get the piece laid out yesterday, margins insisted on inconsistency, symbols were not expanding or shrinking as needed, in fact nothing worked.
    Last night I hand wrote it into my notebook. Today the commands drained through brain to fingers to keyboard to document in a sensible progression.
    And here it is. You caught that butterfly:
    I’d tried to start with the writing as a stationery object intended to move toward experience.
    But it needed, rather, to start as my experience, move into being a stationary page, intended then to flow into an experience for my students.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading remembering the forgot; full justification at here.say..

meta

